pickles

My parents are out of town visiting mi hermana this week. So Smurf, Bean and I are watching the house, watering the plants, and most notably, harvesting their garden. Which is at this moment producing an obscene amount of cucumbers.

So my goal for the afternoon, day, week, etcetera is to make pickles.

I have made pickles before. Technically, it was my mother making pickles, and I was assisting her. But still. I think I can manage it.

My biggest issue right now is finding a good pickle recipe. One would think with more than fifty cookbooks to my name, I’d have a pickle recipe. One would be wrong.

I have one now from the 1970 cooperative extension office pamphlet on pickling, but…I’m just a little hesitant to make 7 quarts of a recipe I’ve never even tried. Eish, what if it’s disgusting? What would I do with 7 quarts of gross pickles?

2 Responses to “pickles”

  1. M Says:

    Have you made the pickles yet? Thehusband’s mom makes pickles, my mom makes pickles I could ask for their recipes. Or I could look in the copy I have of Stocking Up, a couple of those looked good and my mom refers to it often while canning.

  2. Holly Says:

    I did make 3 1/2 quarts of pickles. I haven’t tasted them yet, but I’m a little worried. They smell like mulled cider (due to pickling spice and apple cider vinegar). Of course, I still have about 5-7 pounds of cucumbers–so if you have another recipe, please let me know!!

Leave a Reply

