Advent

Lately I’ve been thinking about my relationship with God. I go to a church that I really like. I give to charity when I can. I pray. I’ve read the Bible from cover to cover. Heck, I’ve even taken a couple of seminary classes. In theory, I should be parting the seas, right?

Honestly, I’ve been feeling a bit disconnected from my Lord and Saviour these days. Like I’ve been going through the motions without any heart. Seems like maybe God and I need to spend some more quality time together.

I decided to pick up my Bible again, but I wasn’t sure where to start. I mean, once you’ve read the Bible once, where do you start? Believe me, Genesis was not appealing to me. And then it hit me. This is Advent. How about the book of Luke? The story of Jesus’ life seemed a good place to dive back in.

For those of you who are a little fuzzy on the geography of your Bible, Luke is one of the gospels, the third book in the New Testament. I’ve heard it likened to a Broadway version of Jesus’ life. Lots of songs and drama and flashy effects. Which has a grain of truth to it, because there are actually songs in Luke. But really, who’s to say the Broadway version isn’t the most accurate?

I chose Luke instead of one of the other gospels, because it actually provides a fair bit of back story. Each of the gospels has something that distinguishes them from the other three; Luke has a dramatic portrayal of the conception and birth of John the Baptist. In my view, this is a pretty integral part of Jesus’ human life, since JtB will play a pivotal role about 30 years down the road.

But I’ll get to that. My plan is simple. Each evening, I’ll pick up my Bible. I’ll read Luke until I find something that I really have to think about. I’ll stop reading there, and then I’ll write out my thoughts. Simple, yes? Doable, yes? I hope so.

One Response to “Advent”

  1. Dad Says:

    Well, Holly, I have a confession. I feel much the same as you. I feel disconnected. I have been seeing a counsellor in Des Moines. She mentioned the term ‘disconnected’ and it struck a chord with me. She recommended I read “Care of the Soul” by Thomas Moore. I bought it used on ebay for 2.50 plus shipping. I have only read about ten pages. But it seems promising. The subtitle is “A Guide for Cultivating Depth and Sacredness in Everyday Life.”

    I just wanted you to know that you are not alone. And God knows we are fallen souls who will find it hard to change our habit patterns.

    By the way, Advent means “coming.” I have been using the term ‘advent’ in referencing the second coming of Jesus the Christ.

    I love you,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

