Contentment and homemaking

You know, life is funny. I have always considered myself to be a big feminist. I can be very independent. I’m capable of handling most situations my rural-urban life throws at me (even if I do whine a lot). I can do (and have enjoyed doing) such things as running a sound system, building a campfire and traveling alone.

Why then do I feel so content spending a morning like this? So far today, I have:

  1. Pickled and canned five quarts of green beans
  2. Washed a load of laundry and hung it to dry on the clothesline
  3. Baked a cherry pie
  4. Worn an apron

I’ve been all alone in the house for the past five hours. I took Bobberina to school, then came home to catch up on my homemaking, apparently.

But it is nice. Doing these things makes me feel peaceful and competent and accomplished. Like finally crossing off those last three items on your to-do list.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Contentment and homemaking”

  1. Dixie Says:

    Maybe you feel a little nostalgic, too? I have days like that (well, not the canning part) when I am kicking butt in the homemaking department. And, you know what? My family always appreciates it. When I go to work, my family always wants to know why. Inevitably, I end up asking myself why too. Why am I spending so much time and energy for this $7.00 an hour when I could be: doing laundry, reading with my kids, cooking a good meal that didn’t come pre-packaged, making cookies with my older kids (they love that.) Is my time really only worth $7.00 an hour minus SS and FICA? sigh. I think, as women, it’s not the tasks that make us “feminists” but the self-sufficiency and accomplishment. Even if the accomplishment is simply making a pie from scratch without burning the crust.

  2. fractone Says:

    Rings true. If only someone would PAY us to raise our kids…

  3. Dixie Says:

    I know, right? : P

  4. Samantha Says:

    I came across your blog when I was researching on homemaking topics. I enjoyed reading the posts. I would also like to share with you the fact that I came across a very interesting site called http://www.homemakersalmanac.com. It seems to be a very ambitious compendium of all homemaking topics and deals with a variety of subjects that would be of immense interest to the homemaker.

Leave a Reply

