Summer reading #6

Review #6: Eat the grapes downward: An uninhibited romp through the surprising world of food by Vernon Pizer

Published 1983    ~    ISBN #0-396-08203-3    ~   165 pages    ~    Challenge book #5

This book annoyed the heck out of me. The author was so caught up in his own eloquence that he couldn’t write a simple sentence to save his life. The worst was on the (several) occasions when Mr. Pizer was sure that his wordplay was far too clever for his readers to catch, so he had to add a second sentence to point out and explain how clever the first sentence was. Ick.

I’m also not too sure about some of his facts. He specifically mentions angulas as a popular Spanish snack food. I have eaten them. Spanish they may be, but in my experience, they are more along the lines of an entree than a snack. He also says salted grasshoppers are widely eaten in Japan, and I never saw them there. I will grant that I do not know everything, and I have not explored every inch of Spain or Japan. But Pizer implies that everyone eats these foods all the time, and that’s just not true.

This book was a huge disappointment to me. I only finished it so I could say I made it that much closer to my reading club challenge goal.

I’m a little behind in posting my book reviews. I just finished book #11, and I have ten reviews up on the reading club site. Unfortunately, I still have THREE books to go from my original list (the books borrowed from my mum’s library): Silent Spring, Headless Males Make Great Lovers, and Word Mysteries and Histories. I’ve started them all, but…school starts next week!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

