Summer reading #12

If Wishing Made It So by Lucy Finn

Published 2008    ~    ISBN #…apparently, none    ~    289 pages

If Lucy Finn can publish a book, and I can’t, there is no justice in this world. Seriously.

Granted, it is a romance novel (not a bodice-ripper), but still. Romance can be well-written. Her setting was…nice. The premise was amusing enough for me to pick it up at my MIL’s house. But the story itself? Totally beyond the realm of possibility, and believe me, I am not referring to the genie.

For example, how can one be simultaneously “a strong, level-headed woman” and “a fainter”? What kind of idiot would purposefully leave her genie at home when she knew she was in danger? Who on earth would–tra-la-la–skip lightly out of her car in a public parking garage, mind in a cloud, WHEN SHE KNEW MOBSTERS WERE TAILING HER?

I keep picking it up and flipping back through the pages, sure that I must have missed a crucial chapter somewhere. But no. I just wasted my time reading about a moron.

One Response to “Summer reading #12”

  1. Dixie Says:

    Ya know what, I have read some pretty crappy writing over the years. Some moderately interesting. I am of the opinion that the only way they get published is personal connections, maybe a good literary agent. You should get one of those! Start sending your stuff out to the agents. You never know what could happen.

Leave a Reply

