The status of my foodstocks

I have been intending (for months) to take a photo of all my lovely preserved foods. Unfortunately, the artificial light in my house is crappy for taking photos, and it’s been too darn cold to take pictures (or walk, breathe, think, etc.) outside for months. BUT this week I will finally have a golden opportunity, for the weather this Friday is supposed to reach a balmy 52 degrees!

The bounty of the summer has lasted a lot longer than I thought, and honestly, I have had a hard time keeping track of how much we’ve eaten. But this afternoon’s inventory turned up the following:

  1. 2 pints of applesauce
  2. 4 cups of peach conserve (this is soooo good mixed into yogurt)
  3. 2 cups of plum jam
  4. 2 pints of strawberry-lemon marmalade
  5. 4 pints of pickled okra
  6. 4 pints of cherry tomatoes (with garlic and basil)
  7. 5 quarts of peeled roma-style tomatoes
  8. 3 quarts and 1 cup of pickled green beans
  9. 3 pints of gorgeous strawberry jam
  10. 1 ~5-pound Long Island Cheese pumpkin
  11. 1 ~5-pound Rouge Vif d’Etampes pumpkin (I think that’s the strain, anyway)
  12. 1 ~2-pound spaghetti squash
  13. ~2 cups frozen strawberries
  14. 2 cups frozen green tomato puree
  15. 3 cups frozen shredded zucchini
  16. 3 pheasants
  17. 25 frozen cubes of pesto (~4 cups)
  18. ~2/3 cup sugarplums
  19. ~6 cups plum syrup

The 19 “items” listed above are what I preserved myself–except for the pumpkins and spaghetti squash, which have not been preserved in any way. They are just, um, still good. Oh, and the pheasants, which were shot and cleaned by my father-in-law.

I also have a ton of good stuff purchased from my local food co-op, including:

  1. ~2 cups dried apples
  2. 2 pounds carrots (left from the 10-pound bag I ordered in December)
  3. ~1.5 pounds of beets (also left from December’s order)
  4. a smidgen of Greek-style goat cheese
  5. ~1/2 cup roasted and peeled chestnuts
  6. a 3.5-pound pork shoulder
  7. ~7 pounds of beef short ribs
  8. 1 pound of cubed lamb
  9. 1 pound of beef shank bones
  10. 1 pound of beef soup bones
  11. the necks, etc. leftover from four chickens and a turkey (saved for stock)

In the midst of all this bounty, I feel incredibly inept in that I cannot think of a single idea for dinner. And slightly ashamed that we recently purchased a ton of food at the chain store down the street when there’s so much good stuff waiting at home.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The status of my foodstocks”

  1. fractone Says:

    I forgot about my black walnuts! Cups and cups of black walnuts that, unfortunately, still need to be shelled. I spent ages collecting them from the back yard, squishing off the green outer fruit, washing off the worst of the persistent black dye…and now they sit. Alas.

  2. Dixie Says:

    ew. Black walnuts, why? The rest made me hungry! With the possible exception of poultry necks. But, that made me think of Gram’s homemade chicken noodle soup; now that makes me hungry…and nostalgic. So, are you taking pictures today?

Leave a Reply

