Puree, part 2

I just realized that I never updated my food mill status.

I did not buy a food mill. In fact, I didn’t even make applesauce or apple butter during the harvest. We still had some left from 2007, so I decided there wasn’t much point. And I opted to can my tomatoes whole.

However, months later, my darling mother-in-law called around and located an Oxo food mill here in town, which became a part of my Christmas joy. Ironically, a couple of friends also gave me a food processor for Christmas. Which just goes to show: be careful what you wish for. Especially if you put it in writing.

Have I been using my new tools? Yes. The food mill aided in tomato sauce and tomato soup, both of which turned out lovely and seedless.  The food processor made short work of both napa cabbage and carrots for spring rolls. I haven’t used either one a whole lot, but it has only been a month and a half. Perhaps I’ll make some mashed potatoes for supper.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Puree, part 2”

  1. Dixie Says:

    You make your own spring rolls? How long does that take?
    I would love to have a food processor, but right now there’s
    not even room in my kitchen for my bread machine. 😦

  2. fractone Says:

    It doesn’t actually take that long to make them. It just takes practice to wrap the darn rice paper wrappers tightly enough that the spring rolls don’t disintegrate as soon as you take a bite. By the 8th or 9th roll, I was starting to get the hang of it. Unfortunately, we were also getting very FULL. Mm, cabbage.

    Ironically, I ate them twice last week–once at home and once at a late Chinese New Year party. I love spring rolls.

Leave a Reply

