Feeling poor

I’m pretty lucky. I know that. I have a lovely husband and daughter, a cat (even if she does whine and keep me up at night), a roof over my head, a decent income, plenty of friends, God and so on.

But sometimes, SOMEtimes I feel worried about what I don’t have. Times like now, when I’m worried about money. When I’m worried enough to feel uncomfortable buying food, because I’m afraid that might cause a check to bounce.

I know, I should be thankful for what I do have. I should appreciate my blessings. I should listen to my husband, who says to relax. We always make the finances work somehow, right?

Yeah.

Right.

I still worry. It’s a hard habit to break.

But even I know that worrying never actually accomplished anything, so I’m also going to take some constructive action. Because food is my main personal expense, I’m going to plan a week’s worth of meals that require no new purchases.

I actually started this afternoon, by making hummus (yay, food processor) and baking two loaves of pumpkin bread. So I can use those for breakfast and/or lunch at least a few days this week.

Monday

  • Breakfast: tea and pumpkin bread with neufchatel cheese
  • Lunch: a hard-boiled egg, carrot sticks and horseradish-beet salad
  • Snack: hummus and crackers
  • Supper: lamb kebobs, saffron rice and romanesco broccoli

Tuesday

  • Breakfast: cherry juice and pumpkin bread with neufchatel cheese
  • Lunch: roasted pork sandwich, pickled okra and a coke
  • Snack: vanilla peach smoothie
  • Supper: spinach pesto lasagne and steamed carrots with Spike

Wednesday

  • Breakfast: peanut butter crunch with milk
  • Lunch: tea and a hummus wrap with spinach and olives
  • Snack: pumpkin bread with neufchatel cheese
  • Supper: pumpkin soup with coconut-lime bread

Thursday

  • Breakfast: tea and pumpkin bread with neufchatel cheese
  • Lunch: leftover pumpkin soup and coconut-lime bread
  • Snack: graham crackers and hot cocoa
  • Supper: pineapple bratwurst, mashed potatoes and marinated cauliflower

Friday

  • Breakfast: granola
  • Lunch: roasted pork sandwich, pickled okra and tea
  • Snack: carrot sticks and hummus
  • Supper: pumpkin gnocchi with sage browned butter and a green salad

I WAS going to make Ragu Napoletano for dinner one night. I found a gorgeous recipe in How To Read A French Fry, by Russ Parsons, and I’ve been saving it for…almost a year. Yikes. But I have no onions, nor fettucine, nor parsley, nor tomato paste. So it will have to wait a little longer.

My goal is to stick to this meal plan, give or take a few day-switches, and to BUY NOTHING for the whole week. No additional groceries, no emergency snacks, no maternity clothes…

We’ll see how it goes.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Feeling poor”

  1. Dixie Says:

    I think you need to be getting more calcium in your diet. Love you!

  2. Dixie Says:

    P.S. maybe you’re feeling poor because you just spent a buncha money on plane tickets. :[)

Leave a Reply

