Budget eating update

We’ve been doing a pretty good job with eating on a budget. I did stick with the meal plan I made for Week 1…except for Friday. Friday evening we ran errands and went swimming at the YMCA. By the time we finished, it was 9 pm. And no one felt like cooking dinner when we were already starving. So we hit the drive-through at Wendy’s. I know, I know–it wasn’t exactly what I had in mind. But we stuck to the cheap menu and did pretty well for less than $15. Maybe less than $12. I don’t remember.

Last week was Week 2 of the project. I made the following plan (suppers only, because I tend to eat leftovers for lunch):

  1. Beef short ribs, leftover coconut bread and a green salad
  2. Pumpkin gnocchi with sage-brown butter sauce, garlicky kale and applesauce
  3. Beef barley soup with buttered bread
  4. Linguini and clams with cherry tomato bruschetta
  5. Maple parsnip soup

Again, we did pretty well. I dropped the maple parsnip soup in favor of homemade pizza (which involved an unfortunate grocery run but a fortunate $10 receipt). We did have to make another bag of purchases for the beef short ribs, alas. But most of the dinners turned out better than expected.

I discovered that my favorite way to devour home-canned cherry tomatoes is mashed up on toast (wow!). I think we’ll blow through the remaining 3 jars pretty fast.

I cooked beef shanks and barley for the first time, and the soup was terrific. Wonderful mouth-feel from the stock, and we still have enough leftover soup for tonight.

My favorite of the week was the pumpkin gnocchi. We joked that it was a REAL Italian dinner, since we started eating at 10 p.m. But it was beautiful and delicious. Just see:

gnocchi

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Budget eating update”

  1. Neighbor Nancy Says:

    Hey, good job!
    The beginning is the hardest. If you fall off budget, don’t beat yourself up about it, just remember tomorrow is a new day.
    Feel free to visit my back porch for a few recipes and ideas.
    http://kitewrite.wordpress.com

    Eventually, you will get into a rhythm, know your recipes and it will all become a snap.
    Keep up the good work.

  2. Dixie Says:

    Sounds yummy! I just need to make a menu plan and stick to it! You’re doing great.

Leave a Reply

