Budget eating #5

After a long holiday weekend of indulgence, it’s back to the budget for us. Especially considering Saturday’s $100 grocery receipt.

This week’s plan:

  1. Rotini with Anarchic Tomato Sauce (a.k.a. Whatever I Throw in the Pan), starring fresh basil and oregano from the Bean’s garden. Lovely green salad on the side.
  2. Broiled skirt steak with Sunchoke Vinaigrette and Pumpkin Bread. Rhubarb Cobbler (finally) and Vanilla Bean Ice Cream for dessert.
  3. Persian Barley Salad (adapted from Persian Rice Salad) with fresh fruit and roasted asparagus.
  4. Strawberry Spinach Salad with roasted new potatoes and, oh, hard-boiled eggs or something. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll get some salmon.

I think that should cover us. Although, honestly, I have to admit that I’ve already cooked and EATEN #s 1 and 2, so “planning” hardly goes into it.

Also, rhubarb cobbler is an awesome breakfast.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Budget eating #5”

  1. Dixie Says:

    Sounds good. Want to come cook at my house? I’m stuck in “chicken with other stuff” mode.
    The “gummy root beer” was the gummies shaped like bottles, maybe they were cola flavored, but we decided it was root beer. I didn’t actually eat any, but the kids liked them. I never liked candy flavored like root beer anyway.

  2. Dixie Says:

    I was commenting on another friend’s blog and realized my blog address was in wrong for the wordpress “website” spot. Glad you found me! Carlo has been planning his birthday since Keliah’s. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

