2009 Summer reading status

I had forgotten how quickly I finish books when I have a nursing infant. Unfortunately, I had also forgotten how hard it is to type with only one hand. So reading is ahead of schedule, while posting is sadly behind.

Status?

Completed: 2 1/2 books from the summer ’09 list, one from summer ’08 and one from no list at all. And I read Coming Home again. (The shame!)

  1. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
  2. In Defense of Food
  3. My Secret Diary
  4. The Red and the Black
  5. Dark Lord of Derkholm

In hand: 2 1/2 books from the summer ’09 list and three library books checked out when I discovered The Great Gatsby and From the MixedUp Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler were both unavailable.

  1. My Secret Diary
  2. Cookwise
  3. The Great Gatsby (thank heavens I still have access to my mum’s library)
  4. Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant: Confessions of Cooking for One and Dining Alone
  5. The Fruit Hunters
  6. Home Cheese Making

Not currently completed, in hand or available at the public library: three books, two of which are considered classics.

  1. Harriet the Spy
  2. From the MixedUp Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
  3. Gulliver’s Travels
Tags: ,

2 Responses to “2009 Summer reading status”

  1. Dixie Says:

    Can you request them through the library? Mom doesn’t have Gulliver’s Travels?

  2. fractone Says:

    Well, my school library access is somewhat limited, as all the shelves are tarped over and taped up while the light fixtures are being replaced. She did, however, grab The Great Gatsby for me, since it was at the end of a shelf and could be easily filched.

    I may have to wait another month for Gulliver, etc.

Leave a Reply

