Proud Momma moment #2

My in-laws bought the Bean a book called Little Mommy by Sharon Kane.  It is about a little girl mothering her babydolls. It’s sweet, but it’s also a “classic”…meaning it was originally published some time ago. And the gender roles show it.

For that reason, I don’t like to read it to her. I don’t want her growing up to believe that all women (all mommies) stay at home while their husbands work. (And, yes, I am aware of the irony that I currently am a stay-at-home mom. )

I consciously work to defray gender role programming in my daughter, because I want HER to decide what she wants out of life and who she wants to be. When “Big Girls Don’t Cry” comes on the radio, I sing “DO cry”. When “I Want to Be Bobby’s Girl” comes on, I just change the channel.

I don’t buy her Barbies, Disney Princesses or Fairies…but I don’t throw them out when others give them to the Bean. Those are just different ideas of female identity, and it’s okay for her to be exposed to them. I just don’t want her to get those ideas from ME.

I give her puzzles and books and toys that could be fun for girls or boys. And, yes, I had to deal with a little sadness when she started REQUESTING Barbies. But I’ve also gotten to see the Barbies play with Buzz and Woody and Sully in the dollhouse.

Back to Little Mommy and the proud moment. What is the one scene I’ve seen the Bean act out? Sweeping? Cooking? Hanging laundry out to dry? No…

There she sits with her toy stethoscope, examining Mary-doll. Mary, Bean proclaims, has the “mumbledy bumps”. Just like page 15 in Little Mommy, in which a little BOY doctor diagnoses the same problem.

My daughter rocks.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Proud Momma moment #2”

  1. Dixie Says:

    That’s super cute. You should be proud. On the other hand, now I don’t know if I should send the Ariel baby doll to her. 😉
    I would only suggest that you let God lead her in the direction of her life. She is His precious daughter & He has a plan for her within His broader plan for all of us.
    Love ya! Hey bounce over to my blog and join Blog for a Cure! Benefitting the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

    • fractone Says:

      Of all the Disney princesses, I like Ariel the most. Her story isn’t about being passive and waiting to be rescued (like Sleeping Beauty). Instead, she saves Eric from drowning.

Leave a Reply

