Lukewarm life

I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

–Revelations 3:15-16

Does anyone else ever feel like they are living their entire lives in a lukewarm state? Not necessarily regarding God (although, obviously, that can be a big part of it), but in general. Not committed to one life path or another. Not pursuing anything in particular. Not excited about anything or distraught by anything or worked up about much at all.

That’s how I feel just now.

Here I sit. Wife of one. Mom of two. Co-owner of fairly successful business. Unable to decide whether to go back to seminary, pursue law school, apply for a full-time job or just part-time. Etcetera.

Bleah.

I can’t even get my act together enough to unpack my cookbooks, and cooking is one of the few things I know I love.

(Yet I know I don’t want to be a full-time cook.)

I can’t seem to fully focus on my business, because it isn’t what I most wish I were doing…but what do I most wish for? I don’t know. Clarity? A goal?

I thought writing out my thoughts would help, and this post is just as muddled as I am.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Lukewarm life”

  1. jocelyn Says:

    you are a wonderful friend, wife, mom.. pursue your dreams!

  2. fractone Says:

    Thanks, sweetie. Love you.

  3. Dixie Says:

    Absolutely. Put aside your lukewarm feelings and focus on what you are most passionate about. If you’re feeling apathetic about all, turn to God and really talk and listen to Him. He loves it! He will show you the secrets of His heart. Don’t be spit out, be brought in.;)

Leave a Reply

