Meal plan 11.15.09

Since it is now…uh…8:57 on Sunday night, and I only NOW have dinner underway, I’ve decided it is time once again to engage in a little MEAL PLANNING.

So. What do I have that needs eating?

  • chestnuts
  • celery
  • pumpkin
  • zucchini
  • eggs
  • leeks
  • beets
  • scallions
  • cranberries
  • Parmesan cheese rinds

Feeling very fallish in my refrigerator. So what can I make with this?

  1. Chestnut soup with cranberry orange bread
  2. Swiss chard and sweet potato gratin (de Smitten Kitchen) with maple leek salad
  3. Chicken Parmesan soup
  4. Pumpkin cannelloni with sage brown butter (sans clam sauce, thanks)
  5. Lamb kebobs with zucchini fritters and yogurt sauce

Hm. Lots of heavy-lifting cooking. I suppose we’ll see how well the girls cooperate. Oh, AND I have choir practice on Wednesday (just joined, so I’m still trying to remember it on my internal calendar).

That still leaves me with beets, too, but I think I can deal with that. Perhaps serve them with the cannelloni. I actually saw a recipe for beet soup served in roasted acorn squash halves, but that sounded a little too risky a combination for my four-year-old. And me.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Meal plan 11.15.09”

  1. sandysays1 Says:

    A human with real gastronomic sense and imagination. My human would be pleased to meet you – too bad there’s all that space between. Seems to me that you’re one of those rare folks who can convert chicken s–t to chicked salad. http://www.sandtsays1.wordpress.com

  2. Dixie Says:

    Sounds yummy! But, I think you’ll have to start cooking before 8. 😉

Leave a Reply

