My fridge…she is full

And I’m going out of town in three days! Augh!

What can I make with:

  • half of an enormous pumpkin,
  • two dozen chicken eggs,
  • milk,
  • sour cream,
  • chestnuts (still),
  • yogurt,
  • scallions,
  • leeks,
  • half an enormous zucchini,
  • figs,
  • underripe pears, and
  • green garlic?

Augh! What can I make with all of this that my leetle family will also EAT in the next three days?

I already made last week’s pumpkin lasagne (instead of cannelloni–much faster), lamb kebobs, zucchini fritters and cranberry-orange bread. And Michael cooked the chicken last night for an early Thanksgiving with his parents, which means I still have a bag full of parmesan rinds looking for a home.

Poor little parmesan rinds.

On the menu tonight is the Swiss chard and sweet potato gratin I didn’t get around to last week. And I suppose we can still have the maple leek salad with it. Maybe I’ll throw some figs and chestnuts in there, too.

But still leaves half of the foods on my list! Augh!

You know what this means. It’s time to get creative.

I could make angel food cake and lemon curd. That would take care of my egg infestation. (Wow, that sounds gross. Perhaps egg invasion would be better.) But do I really need to make more dessert when we already have leftover Grape and Almond Frangipane Tart and Pumpkin Pie with Brown Sugar-Walnut Topping? When both are delicious beyond words? When we’re already planning to make a new kind of pecan pie and maple cream pie for the trip?

Perhaps not.

I could whip up some pumpkin butter, but I don’t have any bread to spread it on! So, okay. Start with bread. Or something bread-like, anyway.

Smitten Kitchen is no help. All I want to do now is make soft pretzels, which is not exactly a great idea when home alone with one’s five-month-old daughter, no matter how cute she is.

Looks like we’re going with the old stand-by: zucchini bread. Whether this will meld well with pumpkin butter, I do not know. It will be tasty with the gratin, I’m sure. Maybe we’ll skip the pumpkin butter and use the pumpkin for Tuesday’s dinner.

For Tuesday night: pumpkin curry with vegetable biryani and a yogurt-green-garlic-and-scallion sauce to cool. And, of course, naan.

Leaving…ooh, I think just the pears! Well, we can just take those with us if my husband doesn’t finish them off with his lunches between now and Wednesday. Yay! Kitchen success!

But what will we do with the leftovers?

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “My fridge…she is full”

  1. anotheryarn Says:

    Unless those eggs have been in your fridge for over a month – just don’t worry about them yet. And how full is your freezer?

    Finally. Dang geography, I was going to make soft pretzels last night but didn’t due to feeling I should eat a more balanced dinner and use up stuff in our fridge – also our freezer is full so there would be no room for freezer extra pretzels.

  2. fractone Says:

    We really need to live closer to each other. Who else will impulse-cook with me? Who else can I have an hour-long conversation about food with? Who else considers the library a cool place to be on Friday night?

Leave a Reply

