Weekend O’ Food

Friday my mum and I made four pints of plum butter, using sand plums that she and my dad picked from my uncle’s farmland in Oklahoma.

Saturday I spent $40 at the farmer’s market. I bought peaches, tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, corn on the cob, eggplants, garlic bratwurst, smoked pork loin and four types of lettuce. When I came home, I made lemonade, fried green tomatoes, corn on the cob and garlic brats for lunch. My husband made the base for a vanilla ice cream.

Yesterday we froze the vanilla ice cream. I made plum syrup with liquid leftover from cooking Friday’s sand plums, then made ice cream using the syrup. I blanched the remaining dozen ears of corn, cut the kernels from the cobs and froze it. (I ended up with roughly four pints.) I made two pints of peach conserve by adapting the apricot conserve recipe from Jeffery Steingarten’s It Must Have Been Something I Ate. For supper, I made soy-glazed eggplant (using homegrown garlic) and a stirfry of snowpeas and carrots.

Yesterday I also bought eight more cartons of mushrooms for pickling, port wine for poaching the underripe pears picked from my grandparents’ tree, ginger for stewing some of the same pears…

I did not buy juice, because we have homemade frozen grape juice concentrate that we need to mix up.

I did not buy Coke, because it was almost $5 for a twelve-pack. I did, however, buy two types of fancy cheese, wine and $8 of chocolates.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Weekend O’ Food”

  1. anotheryarn Says:

    Our weekend Farmer’s Market haul ($33.65)
    3 small cucumbers
    3 small zucchinis
    1 med tomato
    1 head lettuce
    2 ears of corn
    ~ 1/2 lb green beans
    2 1/3 lbs cherries
    4 nectarines
    2 donut peaches
    1 loaf of bread
    1 pt blueberries
    1 pt strawberries

    Nothing preserved but a wonderful meal-plan lined up for the week.

  2. the Success Ladder Says:

    Great article, thanks for sharing this. I have subscribed to your RSS feed and am looking forward to reading more from you.
    Keep up the good work and don’t stop posting please.

  3. Dixiemom7 Says:

    Sounds fabulous! I love the list of things you did buy at the end. You’ve just got to have priorities, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

